Monday, August 11, 2014

Emily Ann, An Introduction



Last week two of my favorite bloggers, Tess and Natasha both posted these introduction posts and I couldn't help but follow in their footsteps for today's post! Here's a little more introduction about myself for those that don't know me too well and a little bit more info for those that do...

Name/Occupation/Age/Stats
Emily-
My mother named me after a soap opera star Emily Ann, not the greatest story but absolutely true. I used to not be the biggest fan of my name but it's definitely grown on me and now I love it. One of my grandfathers has always called me by my whole name, Emily Ann and to this day I love hearing him say it. I am 25 and live in Richmond, VA. I moved here just a little over two and a half years ago. I am originally from the Annapolis, Maryland area and I would be lying if I said I didn't miss home on a weekly basis. However my heart will always be in North Carolina where I attended college and completed my internship. There is nothing like driving south and seeing that Welcome To North Carolina sign! Fingers crossed life will take me back there some day!


Child Life Specialist. 
I am currently a Child Life Specialist at Children's Hospital of Richmond and work with pediatric inpatient hematology/oncology patients. My job is to take the stress away from being hospitalized. We provide normalizing opportunities and materials for patients while they on the floor, including toys, movies, and crafts. However a large majority of my job and my favorite part is explaining new diagnosis and procedures and providing distraction and relaxation for invasive procedures. This could be anything from explaining an MRI, IV, diabetes, leukemia, or a major surgery. I absolutely love my job, especially working with my hem/onc kiddos and am so thankful for the opportunity to meet such amazing children and their families during a stressful time and be a support to them in any way I can. 

Family Info. 
I am actually an only child! My parents separated when I was 2 and both have remarried. My mom and stepdad live in the Annapolis area, while my dad and stepmom reside in New Jersey. I have a slew of aunts and uncles and cousins on both sides and am so fortunate I am not far from my family. They are truly a blessing. 



Favorite Hobbies.
Reading, blogging, working out, cooking, shopping, enjoying wine, trips to Barnes and Noble, spending time with friends and family, football games, and coffee.


Five Things I Can't Live Without
1. Wine- shocker that this is #1 but I am true fan of wine. Whether it's after a long day or enjoying a glass outside, I love wine and it makes me happy. 
2. Time Spent with Friends. I absolutely live for anytime I get to spend with my friends. It picks me up, puts me in a good mood and I am so fortunate to have the best friends around. 
3. Music. This girl is a fan of all different types of music at any time of day. I listen to music while I'm getting ready in the morning, I normally sing in the shower, jam on the way to work... music is great and can definitely be a mood changer. 
4. Books. I love reading and always have even at a young age. There is something so great about getting lost in a book for hours and not wanting to put it down until its finished. 
5. Working out. This is definitely a love hate but I'm convinced if I didn't work out I would be a good 10-15lbs heavier. I love the feeling after a good workout and even more that it allows me to have some of my favorite things without feeling guilty aka pizza and wine. 

Favorite Things To Do
Some of my favorite things to do include listening to live music- outdoor concerts are the best but any sort of live music and I am happy. I love taking my weekly visits to Barnes and Noble to peruse the books and magazines, visiting wineries and breweries, and going to the river. 



Go To Outfit.
I am a big fan of dresses, especially comfy casual ones. I tend to pair these with a scarf or statement necklace, jacks and call it a day! 

Biggest Pet Peeves. 
Not nice drivers and people who use the last of the toilet paper and don't replace it. Not a whole lot tends to bother me which I guess is a good thing. 

Typical Day. 
I am normally up by 5:45 and either off the gym or spin before work or hopping in the shower to get to work early so that I can head out early for a work out. I normally work 4, 10 hour shifts. I do have to work weekends but they are normally short and not too stressful. I get to work anywhere between 7 and 8:30 depending on if I worked out in the morning or not. Every day has a different set of meetings and rounding schedules but I normally leave anywhere between 5-7, again depending on when I got to work. Once I am off work, I normally head home to unwind and cook dinner. Most evenings you can find me in the kitchen, glass of wine and pandora cooking away. 


Favorite Go-To Beauty Products
This is definitely an area I wish I was better about as I tend to try different products all the time. However currently a few of my favorites include: Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation, NYX Boudoir Collection Mascara, Bare Minerals Ready Bronzer, Rosebud Salve Tube


Favorite Music/Bands/Singers
I love all different kinds of music, anything from country to pop to acoustic. A few of my go to favorites are Van Morrison, John Mayer, Mumford and Sons, Alabama Shakes, 1975, and Dave Matthews. 

 My Top 10 Movies
Hmm definitely a toughie but I would say Father Of The Bride, Godfather, Weddings Crashers, Fast Times at Ridgemont High, Gone With The Wind, Little Women, Love Actually, Hocus Pocus, Sixteen Candles, How to Lose A Guy in 10 days

Favorite Foods To Make:
Salmon, roasted veggies, homemade pizza, and omelets. 



Other Q&A
What you wanted to be when you grew up: Teacher
Beauty secret: Washing your face at night
Celebrity crush: Jake Johnson aka Nike from New Girl 

Yours truly, 
Emily Ann





3 comments:

Em said...

Thanks for sharing!! I love your name too, but hey I'm biased haha. Your job sounds absolutely AMAZING and definitely so important. Books, music, working out and wine are definitely ALL of my fav things too. :)

Tess said...

How did I miss this??! I never knew the details of your job but WOW, what an amazing, lovely thing that you do. I'm sure it comes with a lot of challenges, but what a blessing and bright light you must be for your patients and their families. I don't think I would have the strength and I am so impressed!!

Nat said...

Loved learning more about you!! I loved hearing about your job-it sounds hard but what a rewarding job. I love the name Emily and I love that you cook with pandora on. I always bake with my pandora on.